Texas governor sets June 30 special election to replace Farenthold

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott (R) has scheduled a special election for June 30 to replace former Rep. Blake FarentholdRandolph (Blake) Blake FarentholdThe biggest political upsets of the decade Members spar over sexual harassment training deadline Female Dems see double standard in Klobuchar accusations MORE (R) who resigned earlier this month after revelations of sexual harassment claims against him.

The deadline for candidates to file is Friday and early voting will be carried out from June 13-26, Abbott’s office announced on Tuesday.

Following Farenthold’s resignation, Abbot said he wanted the seat filled quickly because it represents a district that is still recovering from getting hit by Hurricane Harvey last summer.


“All counties contained within this district continue to be under the state disaster declaration related to the devastation of Hurricane Harvey, making it imperative that we fill this vacancy as soon as possible,” Abbott said in a statement.

“Hurricane relief efforts depend heavily on action at the federal level, which can only occur if Texans residing in disaster zones have full and effective representation in Congress,” Abbot added.

Farenthold resigned from the House after it was revealed last year that he had used $84,000 worth of taxpayer funds to settle a sexual harassment claim three years ago.

Republican and Democratic runoff elections for Farenthold’s seat are currently taking place as part of the upcoming midterm election.

The district is expected to remain in Republican hands through the special election and the 2018 midterms. President TrumpDonald John TrumpSenate advances public lands bill in late-night vote Warren, Democrats urge Trump to back down from veto threat over changing Confederate-named bases Esper orders ‘After Action Review’ of National Guard’s role in protests MORE won the district by 24 points in 2016.

Click Here: cheap sydney roosters jersey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *